Beauty for Ashes

“To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called the trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified” (Isaiah 61:3).

Life has a way of throwing curveballs that we are usually totally unprepared for. After tragedy strikes, we are left with what appears to be a pile of rubble and ashes. We may ask, “God, what can be done with this? My life is left in ruins, I’m drowning in my grief and I have no idea where to go from here.”

I have learned through the loss of 3 babies (miscarriages) that God desires even our brokenness. There were times when I  felt like I had nothing left to give Him except for tears and all of my hurt. It wasn’t any less of a sacrifice, if anything it was more. It was all I had to give, my broken heart and shattered dreams.

That is all that God truly desires, “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit a broken and contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise” (Psalm 51:17).

Sometimes its difficult to surrender in the midst of great sorrow, but know that God always has your best interests at heart. He loves you unfathomably, and has a perfect plan for your life.  You can trust Him with your life, He holds you in the palm of His hand and wants to guide you and protect you.

Prayer:  Lord, I surrender my heart to You today. I am grieving and struggling to work through all of this, but I know You walk each and every step with me. You are not a spectator.  You are always with me and I’m grateful for that today.

Devotion by Caitlin Walker

Leave a Reply

