I’m Working on the Master’s Degree

“Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” (2 Timothy 2:15 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

The past few months I have been working on The Master’s Degree. The Word of God has become more precious to me. Memorization of the Bible has been my strength.

One of my wonderful encouragers, Carol Rash called and I told her that I was working on The Master’s Degree and she responded, “What are you majoring in?” I repeated what I had told her and she got what I was saying. Actually, I was majoring in suffering and delving into the Word of God to help me get through.

Our daughter received her Master’s degree in nursing last year. She was already an R.N. and working but wanted to advance her education. Mastering her skills was her objective.

Mastering something requires time and study. The Apostle Paul was writing, Timothy, his son in the gospel, to admonish him to study or “know the Word” so he could be approved by God. Knowing the Word would help him rightly divide the Word and keep him from deviating from what the Bible teaches.

I have read the Bible through now for 40+ years every year, but, this year, I have studied His Word with a greater hunger for knowing this wonderful book. No, I haven’t received The Master’s Degree yet, but I am feverishly working on it!

Prayer: I want to know more about You, Lord! I want to study Your Word more. I want to know the wisdom You have laid out in Your Word. It has become my all-time favorite book! I can open it at any time of the day and find strength. It is the Bread of Life!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

