How to Handle a Hard Task

“And he said, O Lord God of my master Abraham, I pray thee, send me good speed this day, and shew kindness unto my master Abraham.” (Genesis 24:12 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible.)

Have you ever been given a task that seemed impossible for you to do? You’re not alone, I have too. What this servant did made this task possible. He held a prayer meeting and asked God to help him!

Abraham’s servant was sent to find a bride for Isaac, his master’s son. The journey was long and his camels were thirsty. He asked God to send a damsel who would give him a drink and his camels too. Before he finished praying, Rebekah showed up as if she were reading a script to gave him and his camels a drink.

Verse 21 tells us that the servant could hardly believe what he was seeing. It sounds like some of us! “And the man wondering at her held his peace, to wit whether the Lord had made his journey prosperous or not.”

You know how the story ended. She took him home with her and then went back with the servant to marry Isaac.

This all occurred because someone was willing to go and rely on God to make it possible. Servants serve better when they pray.

Prayer: Lord, You are the way maker. I lean on You to do exactly as You ask of me. I want to say, “Yes” to Your will and Your way. Thank You for leading me and guiding me in life. Amen.

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

