Heaven’s View of Affliction

“For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory:” (2 Corinthians 4:18 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

In this verse, Paul was writing the church at Corinth to remind them that what is going on in the world is not worth getting hung-up over or giving up. His words communicated to them and all of us that the hard times won’t last. There is a better day coming!

The words “light affliction” don’t seem to go together for me. It reminded me of the surgeon who told me that my mastectomy would be minor surgery. He was trying to encourage me by saying the recovery time would be rapid. I thought to myself, you called it minor but to me it felt major!

Paul and his fellow-laborers had experienced trials and they knew they were only temporary. These trials would seem to be anything else but light. They consisted of want, danger, contempt, stoning, and constant exposure to death by land or by sea. In Paul’s estimation, these trials were not worthy to be named in comparison with the eternal weight of glory.

According to Barnes Notes, the Apostle Paul evidently wished to express two ideas in the most emphatic manner possible. First, the affliction was light and secondly that it was transient, momentary, and soon passing away.

Prayer: Lord, give me the right perspective on what I am going through. The things I’m going through today will be gone tomorrow. But, the things we can’t see will last forever!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

