He is the I AM

“Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life:  he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live.”  (John 11:25 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

Two words speak volumes about who Jesus was.  He said, “I am,” not “I was,” but “I am.”  Often in religious circles we hear folks say that He is the Great I am.  The word great is a adjective which adequately describes His stature, but Jesus simply said, “I am.”

Jesus was speaking to Martha who had just suffered the death of her brother, Lazarus.  Her world was shaking but not her trust in Jesus.

Jesus wanted Martha to understand that He understood her grief.  Lazarus was his friend too.  Losing friends in this life can be devastating to say the least.  When Jesus shows up during your time of grief, He knows what to say and how to give peace at just the right time.  I can attest to His faithfulness!

Prayer:  Lord, You have been faithful to me.  When tragedy struck, You were there.  In my darkest hour, You made Yourself known in a very real way and I thank You for being present with me.  Amen.

Devotion by  Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

