A Legacy of Faith

“The fundamental fact of existence is that this trust in God, this faith, the firm foundation under everything that makes life worth living.  It’s our handle on what we can’t see.  The act of faith is what distinguished our ancestors, set them above the crowd.”  (Hebrews 11:1-2 , The Message Bible)

My husband was teaching this past Sunday from Hebrews Chapter 11.  It is often called, The Hall of Faith.  As he was reminiscing,  I began to realize and appreciate the legacy of faith that was handed down to me.

My parents exemplified faith in our home.  When money was short, they would cry out to God and He supplied our needs.  My memory took me back to a time when we had nothing to eat.  As a family, we knelt to pray.  Before our prayer ended there was a knock on the door.  A man in the church had loaded our porch with groceries!

My Father had rheumatic fever.  We had no insurance so hospitalization was out of the question.  The doctor sent him home to recover.  A nurse in the church gave him shots daily and gave us instructions on how to care for him.  Dad fully recovered without any adverse effects to his heart!

On another occasion, my father was in the hospital for 51 days.  They released him to a nursing home saying he would no longer be able to function on his own.  God stepped in again and he recovered to live 20+ years longer!

Why would I ever walk away from this wonderful legacy that I have seen proven over and over again?  Faith is a distinguishing mark of believers.

Prayer:  Thank You, Lord, for the treasure of faith my parents handed down to me.  It’s far greater than any material wealth they could have left me.  I want to be a living example of faith in action.  Amen!

Devotion by  Kaye Singleton

 

Leave a Reply

