A Health Tip

“A merry heart doeth good like a medicine; but a broken spirit drieth the bones.” (Proverbs 17:22 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible.)

My daily schedule includes taking my blood pressure medicine. It’s important to take it as prescribed.

A few months ago when I visited the doctor my blood pressure was up for no apparent reason. The next morning as I reached for one of the bottles, I realized that I had not been taking one of them as prescribed; instead of 1 in the morning and 1 at night, I had only taken the morning dose. What a difference that second dose made!

Reading the scripture text this morning reminded me that I can’t overlook taking my “Merry Heart” medicine either. How can I do that? By reading and meditating on His Word daily. It’s very important not to forget the need of having a merry heart in this world we are living it. The joy of the Lord will give you strength to go on whatever you are facing today.

I researched this scripture and found that nothing has such a direct tendency to ruin health than grief, anxiety, fretting, bad tempers, etc. All of these work death. In sorrow the breath is oppressed.

Your face shows what’s happening inside of you. Proverbs 15:13 from the Message reads, “A cheerful heart brings a smile to your face, a sad heart makes it hard to get through the day.” So, along with those medications you take, don’t forget your “Merry Heart” medicine and SMILE!

Prayer: I am so thankful for the precious Word of God that gives me hope in a hopeless world. When my way looks dark and dim, I can reach for Your Word and the lights come on to help direct me.

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

