What is Your Talent?

Anne Jan. 2016 5“Neglect not the gift that is in thee…”   I Timothy 4:14

On days like this I wish I were an artist.  How wonderful to be able to pick up a brush and portray on canvas the beautiful fall colours.  But painting is not a talent that the Lord has given me so I do not feel guilty about not attempting it.

I saw this quote from Erma Bombeck: “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me.’”

God has given each of us talents and gifts that are unique to us, and He only asks that we use them to the best of our ability.  The man in the parable of the talents who received one, was only responsible for that one, but he failed to do anything with it, and thereby lost his reward.  He had the same opportunity as the ones who received five and ten, but he did not value what he had received and did not put it to use.

I will never paint a masterpiece, or write a best seller, but whatever talents and gifts that God has given me, I trust that I have been using them as He would want, and that I will continue to do so until He calls me home.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, thank you for the gifts and abilities that you have placed in our hands, help us to use them in a way that will bring you glory.

Devotion by Anne Johnston

Leave a Reply

