Delight is the Key Word

“Delight thyself also in the Lord; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.” (Psalm 37:4 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

While reading this scripture, I had a flashback of my earthly father who passed from this life August 16, 1992. My Daddy was one who loved his children and worked hard to give us what we asked for. The only problem was he had eight children who always wanted something. I was the oldest and learned early on that pleasing Daddy helped you get what you desired.

I remember needing a new pair of shoes. So, to make my case, I showed him the worst looking pair I had in the closet. It worked because of my approach.

A child who loves his father and finds happiness in doing his will; will do much to regulate his own wishes or desires; and will at the same time be a reason why the father will comply with his requests. So it is with our God. Just keep delighting yourself in Him and He will give you the desires (note it is plural) of your heart.

Prayer: Thank You Lord, for being such a wonderful Father. Today, I thank You for Your gracious giving. You have given me more than I could ask or think. Amen!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

