Thank God for Fences

“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour.” (I Peter 5:8 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

While teaching about Daniel in the lions’ den, my mind went back to a visit at the San Francisco Zoo. The zookeeper didn’t feed the lions on Monday and by Tuesday they were starving. We always went to the zoo on Tuesday just to watch them devour the meat as they threw it in the pen. I was reminded of how grateful I was for the fence that protected us from those hungry lions.

Fences are placed to keep us out of particular areas for various reasons. For example, parents add safety gates in their homes so toddlers don’t get hurt.

God also places fences in our lives to make sure we are safe.

The Bible compares Satan to a lion on the loose seeking someone to devour. He will destroy you, if you don’t stay within the guidelines God has set for you in His Word. Don’t ever doubt that Satan is on the prowl looking for his next victim.

Prayer: Jesus, I thank you for those You placed in my life to keep me safe. I will not disregard Your Word. I’m protected when You are with me.  Amen.

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

