Perception Puts Things in Perspective

“For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he: Eat and drink, saith he to thee; but his heart is not with thee.” (Proverbs 23:7 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

The word “thinketh” is a Hebrew verb that likely means, “as he is all along in his heart, so is he (at last) in action.” It primarily means “to divide; hence, to decide, or estimate;” and the noun means “to measure.”

I was reading a post written by a friend that made me pause to think. Sometimes we must stop and put things in their proper place. Often my perception of what’s going on is a little skewed. God has a way of changing my view and causes me to focus on the right thing.

The weather where my friend lives has been extremely hot and humid this summer. She was moving to another house and her spirit was sagging. No doubt she questioned more than one thing that was going on during the stress of a move. All of a sudden God put an object lesson in her view; it was a homeless man who had nowhere to go to escape the terrible heat. It caused her to put things in proper perspective. Instead of complaining, she was excited to think of where she was headed – to a home with air conditioning and relief from the heat.

God recently gave me a similar object lesson. There was an older lady I met in a restroom who had a beautiful black straw hat on. I spoke to her and complimented her on how she was dressed. Her response was, “I’m just glad to be here.”

What she said stuck with me. Before I could question her anymore she was gone. Perhaps she had just finished chemo and was thrilled to be out again. Perception has a way of putting things in perspective. Maybe she was an angel sent to me. I never saw her again.

We tend to forget there are many people that are experiencing more difficult circumstances than we are. When I consider that hospitals are full of those who cannot walk, I’m thankful for the privilege of walking in the mall for exercise.

Prayer: Lord, You woke me up this morning and started me on my way, and I just want to tell how thankful I am for that! I don’t want to take for granted the many blessings You have provided for me. Amen!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

