Conflicts Are Inevitable

“Is not the whole land before thee? Separate thyself, I pray thee, from me: if thou will take the left hand, then I will go to the right; or if thou depart to the right hand, then I will go to the left.” (Genesis 13:9 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

Lot had insisted on leaving home and following Uncle Abraham. Things went well for both Abraham and Lot for awhile, but one day Abraham realized changes must be made. He handled their conflict in the right way. He modeled conflict management for us.

Abraham didn’t push Lot out, but instead gave him a choice. Rather than tell Lot to get lost or go back home, Abraham was intent on keeping a good relationship with his nephew. So, he told Lot to choose a direction – right or left; and he would go the other way.

Conflicts are inevitable. Relationships always matter. People have feelings and feelings often cause conflicts. Be considerate when conflicts arise. I often say there are three sides to every story: His, Hers, and the Truth.

Prayer: Today I am dealing with conflict. I seek You first for direction, Lord. You have the right answer and I am in need of Your help. Thank You for giving me wisdom to handle this conflict wisely. Your Word always gives clear direction!  Amen.

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

