Seeing God in Your Grief

“In the year that king Uzziah died I saw also the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up, and his train filled the temple.” (Isaiah 6:18 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

Regardless of what happened last year or this year, you must keep the Lord as your focus. Seeing God in your grief will help you get through.

Assyria was threatening Israel. When Uzziah died they felt so vulnerable. Uzziah’s reign had brought peace and prosperity. Now they were left without their leader.

It was a pivotal point for Isaiah. He turned to the Lord and was able to see the King immortal who never dies.

Several years ago our grandson, Chase, drowned in a nearby river. I was at the kitchen sink when the call came. Unbelievable grief rushed in like a torrent and swept over me. Knowing first hand all the emotions that are involved, the best place you can go is to the feet of Jesus.

There are many heart breaking situations. Whatever you may be going through that’s causing you grief, I recommend this method. If you can get a glimpse of the Lord you can make it through this one.

Prayer: Today, Lord, my heart is broken. The horizon looked hopeless until I fell at Your feet and peace swept over me. No, I don’t understand and never will know the reason, but I can trust You with my future. You are my future. Lead me Lord, I will follow. Amen!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

