Crash Course on Prayer

“And it came to pass, that, as he was praying in a certain place, when he ceased, one of his disciples said unto him, Lord, teach us to pray, as John also taught his disciples.” (Luke 11:1 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

It’s an exciting time of the year! Along with back to school for the children, I decided to enroll in a crash course on prayer. There are so many needs all around and I want my prayers to be more effective.

The disciples knew they needed to be taught how to pray so they asked Jesus, “Teach us to pray.” No doubt they were struck with the fervor of his prayers, and remembering that John had taught his disciples to pray, they asked Him also to teach them how to pray. Bible scholars say it was the only thing the disciples asked Jesus to teach them.

Everything we learn comes from someone teaching us.

This passage is often called “The Lord’s Prayer,” but in reality it was simple instructions on how to pray.

I was privileged to teach a youth class this weekend on the subject of prayer. I told them, “If you learn to pray, you’ll be okay.” It was an off-the-cuff statement but so true. Of all the things I have learned in my lifetime, prayer is the most valuable. My Mother taught me how to pray. We prayed over everything; sick dogs and all. Guess what? God heard me as a child and He continues to listen when I pray.

Prayer: Lord, I want to thank you today for the avenue of prayer. I’m so glad I was taught from a young age that I can go boldly before Your throne in prayer and that You will listen to my requests. You are a prayer answering God! Amen!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

