An Eternal Yes

YesPsalm 57:7 “My heart is fixed, O God, my heart is fixed: I will sing and give praise.”

When David wrote this Psalm, he was fleeing from King Saul.  He and his men had just entered a cave only to find that Saul and his soldiers were already there, so he was on the run again.  But David had purposed in his heart that he would trust the Lord in all things.

I remember hearing a preacher several years ago make the statement that has stayed with me, “When I gave my heart to God, I said an eternal yes to Him”.  Bro. Jaco has stood strong through the years and is still being a blessing to people today.  Like David he had fixed his heart on God and there has been no turning back.

So, we too must make a firm commitment, fix our hearts and minds on Jesus, and walk with Him no matter what comes our way.  And, like David, we can sing and give praise every day, knowing that the Lord will always be there for us.

Prayer:  O Lord, like the Psalmist, my heart is fixed on you.  I trust you every step of the way, and my voice will rise in praise to thee.

Devotion by Anne Johnston

Leave a Reply

