Be an Encourager

prayingSo then, as Christians, do you have any encouragement? Do you have any comfort from love? Do you have any spiritual relationships? Do you have any sympathy and compassion? Then fill me with joy by having the same attitude and the same love, living in harmony, and keeping one purpose in mind. Don’t act out of selfish ambition or be conceited. Instead, humbly think of others as being better than yourselves.  Don’t be concerned only about your own interests, but also be concerned about the interests of others.  Have the same attitude that Christ Jesus had. (Philippians 2:1-5, GWT)

I recently heard a message that I haven’t been able to get off my mind.  Our youth pastor was talking about how we need to spend more time investing in people.  Life gets so busy and it seems that we never have any extra minutes in our day to invest in anyone but ourselves or our families.  I don’t even have children yet and I know how busy I have become so I can’t imagine how amplified that will be when my family grows.  Even so, I think we need to be aware of what God has called us to do. Investing your time into a friend who doesn’t know the Lord, or maybe has fallen through the cracks doesn’t always mean hours of your time.  Simple phone calls or texts to let someone know you are praying for them might be just what it takes to encourage and uplift them.  I’m praying that God gives me a  deeper burden for people in my life.

Prayer:  God, you are always uplifting us and encouraging us to be better.  Help us to do the same thing to people in our lives.  Give us the wisdom we need to help our friends when they are going through difficult times.  Lead us to the hungry.  In Jesus name, amen.

Devotion by Melinda Keays

Leave a Reply

