Imitate Me

The phrase “more is caught than taught” means that we communicate what we actually believe through choices, not just words. Parents often send unintended messages to their kids: When dad won’t let anything get in the way of game day and shouts encouragement to his favorite team, but won’t take time for a fifteen minute family devotion or worship God with enthusiasm, he is communicating what he believes is important to his family. When mom can afford a weekly pedicure, the latest smartphone, and fashionable clothes, but won’t give to a missions project, the message about what matters is clear to her children.

As parents, we should be able to confidently say to our children, “Imitate me, just as I also imitate Christ” (1 Cor. 11:1).  There is no neutral ground.  Either our children see Jesus Christ as one part of a compartmentalized life or they see He is our life.

Prayer:  Search my heart and my actions today, Lord.  I want my family to know without a doubt that my life revolves around You.  It’s by Your design, that my lifestyle modeling of biblical principles are the key to passing the faith to the next generation. I want my relationship with you to be authentic and inseperable from every other part of my life. I love your commands and I need Your help to intentionally pass a godly legacy on to my children.  Amen.

Devotion by Julie Long

Leave a Reply

