Watch Your Words

Anne March 2016 2

Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.”  Psalm 19:14

 

When I was a little girl, my mother always put my hair in ringlets.  I can remember one morning I was looking at a Bible Story Book when she called me to get my hair combed.  As she was working on my hair, my brother started to turn the pages of the book.  I said, “Don’t turn the Jesus page.”  I was just asking him not to turn away from the page where I had been looking at a picture of Jesus.

My mother thought I was using the name of the Lord wrongly, and explained to me that we did not use the Lord’s name that way.  I learned a lesson that day that I never forgot.  The names of God and Jesus are sacred and precious words and are not to be used lightly.

Thomas cried out “My Lord and My God” in worship as he realized who Jesus was.  Today this expression is used loosely in everyday conversation, even by those who know the Lord.  It bothers me when I hear it.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, you are holy and righteous, and we praise your Name.  Help us to be careful to only use your Name in praise and worship to you.

Devotion by Anne Johnston

Leave a Reply

