What’s in Your Mouth?

“I will bless the Lord at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth” (Psalm 34:1 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible).

Recently, I was sitting in the chair at my dentist office. Deanna, the orthodontist was cleaning my teeth. She’s a wonderful young lady that is easy to talk with. We have built a relationship over the years as we have talked about her horses, her children, even life and death issues.

When she was almost finished, I asked her if it would be accurate to say that the mouth reflects the condition of the body. She went on to tell me that the mouth and the gums can tell if diabetes is present or hypertension is lurking.

Since our mouth is so important, I wonder if that is why the scripture admonishes us to guard it. May I ask you, “What’s in your mouth?” Be careful what you say to others. Let His praise be continually in your mouth!

Revelation makes it clear that eternity will be filled with praising God. I want to start practicing praise down here. By praising Him, I am making others aware of His goodness to me. I can praise Him in the storm as well as in the sunshine.

Prayer: Thank You, Lord, for all of Your blessings You daily load me with. I will bless You at ALL times so the world can see Your goodness!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

