The Steps and Stops of Life

“And Balaam said unto the angel of the Lord, I have sinned; for I knew not that thou stoodest in the way against me: now therefore, if it displease thee, I will get me back again.” (Numbers 22:34 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

Corrie Ten Boom said, “When we are obedient, God guides our steps and our stops.”

Stops are so annoying especially when you’re in a hurry. Understanding God is in our stops is probably harder than in our steps.

Steps are progress, but stops seem useless; or are they? A world without stop signs or red lights would be chaotic.

I have been consumed with my steps lately. My husband put an app on my phone so I would be able to see how many steps I take on a daily basis. My goal is to reach 10,000 steps in a day; I just reached it today.

As far as I know there is no app to count my stops in a day. They are of little interest except perhaps to God. Since He is the navigator of my life, they must be important to him.

In this passage, the donkey tried to stop with the prophet and he failed to heed. God was against him fraternizing with the wrong crowd. Finally, he realized this stop was necessary and that God was in that stop. God knows how to stop us in our tracks when we are headed the wrong direction.

When you are stopped, just know it is for your good and that God is in it all!

Prayer: Lord, I want to thank You for all the stops You have placed in my path. Annoying as they were, they were necessary to keep me on the right path.

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

