In Every Season

four_seasons“These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full.” (John 15:11 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

I have always enjoyed the very distinct seasons that we experience on the Atlantic Canadian coast. Each season holds a unique beauty for me. While winters here can be harsh, I do look forward to cozy sweaters; nights spent near the fire reading a book; the peaceful stillness as snowflakes float gently down dusting the earth with the sparkle of diamonds. Spring is filled with the vibrant colors of new growth. But, in order for flowers to grow and trees to bud, we will experience many days of rain. The perfect summer day is spent with my family playing in the ocean. But even a summer day can have its drawbacks when marred by pesky mosquitoes, black flies and uncomfortable temperatures. Stunning autumn foliage and sun-warmed afternoons make a walk in the park irresistible. However, in just a few short weeks all of that beauty falls to the ground and the world turns brown.

Every season of life has its opportunities and challenges, but, if we are wise we will seek God for guidance as each chapter of our life unfolds. Becoming more like Jesus is a day-by-day process measured one step at a time. If we stop transforming into His image, we will not realize our potential. So, let the seasons of life come and determine in your heart to learn whatever lessons God is teaching you.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, I’m far from what I should be, but I am thankful for each step that is getting me closer to You. I really do want to mature in my relationship with you. Thank You for the gift of abiding joy in every season of my life. Amen.

Devotion by Julie Long

Leave a Reply

