Out of death came life

Anne March 2016 6“I am the rose of Sharon, and the lily of the valleys.” Song of Solomon 2:1

The lily of the valley has always been my favourite flower.  I love the dainty little bells and their sweet perfume.  I don’t know whether this was the lily that the Bible refers to, but I have always thought it was a perfect picture of Jesus.

When I was a child there was a graveyard across from our school, and I will never forget one spring walking home and discovering these beautiful little flowers, spilling outside the fence of the graveyard.  Someone had probably planted a few on a grave and over the years they had spread over a wide area.  When I was thinking about this, I realized that out of death came life.

And so we see a picture of what Jesus Christ has done for us.  By His death, He brought us life.  When the crowd mocked Him on the cross and said, “He saved others, He cannot save Himself,” they did not realize that if He had saved Himself, He could not have saved others.

Just as this little plant multiplies and shares its sweet perfume, so Christ within our life spreads joy and peace to those we come in contact with.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, my Lily of the Valley, spread your fragrance in my heart and let it flow out   to be a blessing to others.

Devotion by Anne Johnston

 

Leave a Reply

