My candle

Anne March 2016 4“No man, when he hath lighted a candle, covereth it with a vessel, or putteth it under a bed; but setteth it on a candlestick, that they which enter in may see the light.” Luke 8:16

I remember a song I learned as a child in Sunday School that has remained with me.

“Jesus bids us shine with a clear pure light like a little candle burning in the night.

In this world of darkness, we must shine, you in your small corner and I in mine.”

It is amazing how much light one small candle can bring to a darkened room.  When you light several candles, and place them in strategic spots, a large area can be illuminated.

Jesus has placed each one of us in the very place He wants us to be, and as we let our light shine for Him, others will see and know that we have been with Jesus, and will desire to know Him too.

Prayer:   Lord Jesus, I am glad that you have chosen the corner where you want me to be.  Help me to let my light shine brightly to bring hope to a darkened world.

Devotion by Anne Johnston

Leave a Reply

