A World of Hurt

worry“Then came to him his mother and his brethren, and could not come at him for the press” (Luke 8:19 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible).

My Bible reading today was in Luke chapter seven and eight. We live in a world of hurt but that really is nothing new. Jesus walked in this world and found much of the same. Helping the hurting was all in a days work for Jesus. In fact, his family had trouble reaching him because of the mass of people.

Dealing with hurting people can be overwhelming at times. My ingenuity is not nearly helpful enough. My city is full of hurting people with needs.

In these two chapters, Jesus performed miracle after miracle. He raised the dead; healed the demoniac; and ministered to every need.

It makes me wonder why we look for the answers in any other place. Jesus was, and still is, the answer for all the needs in my world of hurt.

The songwriter wrote, “Take your burdens to the Lord and leave them there.”

Prayer: Thank You, Lord, for caring for mankind. I’m so glad that I have found You to be the answer in my life.  Amen.

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

