Help from the Sanctuary

Feb. 2016 Anne 6Psalm 20:1-2 “The Lord hear thee in the day of trouble; the name of the God of Jacob defend thee.  Send thee help from the sanctuary, and strengthen thee out of Zion.”

A few years ago, the Lord spoke to me through this Scripture that when we were going through troubles and maybe didn’t even feel like praying, He would send us the help that we needed.

A short time later, I faced the biggest trial of my life when my husband passed away after having heart surgery.   In the midst of my grief, I remembered these verses.  Even though I had a hard time expressing myself to God in prayer, I rested in the promise He had given me.  I knew that my family and my church family were holding me up in prayer, and that the Lord would give me the strength that I needed.  I knew that He was in control of my life, and I had to trust Him that this was His will at the time.  He gave me the strength to get through it.

How important it is for us to pray for those that we know are going through periods of sorrow, sickness, or other problems.  They are depending on us and God will hear our prayers and send them the strength they need.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be faithful in praying for my brothers and sisters who are going through trials and tests.  Hear my cry and send them the help they need.

Devotion by Anne Johnston

 

Leave a Reply

