Beginnings Are Important

image“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom: a good understanding have all they that do his commandments: his praise endureth for ever.” (Psalm 111:10 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible.)

We have just begun our 2016 journey. Beginnings are very important.

Most of us began our lives in a sterile environment. A hospital in Los Angeles is where I came into this world. My parents saw to it that I was safe and well cared for.

I entered first grade at 6 years old. Kindergarten had not been introduced as yet. Because of that beginning I was able to complete twelve years of schooling and graduate from high school. The foundation of learning was laid in that little two-room schoolhouse in Hennepin, Oklahoma.

My parents started me out right with teaching me from my beginning to fear the Lord. Not be afraid of Him, but to trust and respect Him totally. I’m so glad I learned to trust Him from an early age. Seventy-two years later I still trust Him! The good life begins in the fear of the Lord.

Prayer: Lord, I thank You for my simple beginning. Thank You for the wisdom You have given me to help me cope with the things that come my way. My praise to You shall forever endure!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

