A Laughing Matter

laugh“Abraham and Sarah were old by this time, very old. Sarah was far past the age for having babies. Sarah laughed within herself, “An old woman like me get pregnant? With this old man of a husband?” ( Genesis 18:11-12 in The Message.)
Reading about Sarah receiving news at 90 that she was going to have a baby made me laugh with her. I am not 90, but, if someone told me that a year from now I would have a child, I would laugh too. I am so glad that God loves us “oldies”too. He doesn’t just cater to the young crowd.

Sometimes the things God does are laughable. God has pleasant surprises along the way that seem impossible and all you can do is laugh at the news you hear.   

Sarah said in Genesis 21:6 “…God hath made me to laugh, so that all that hear will laugh with me.”

Isaac means laughter, so laughter lived in their house. After reading this passage I plan to ask God for the impossible and laugh when the answer arrives.
Prayer: Thank You, Lord, for sending Isaac to this elderly couple. I know and believe that nothing is impossible with You!

 

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

