What is that to thee?

question what's it to you“Jesus saith unto him, If I will that he tarry till I come, what is that to thee? follow thou me.” John 21:22

Jesus had just finished telling Peter that he would end his life as a martyr. Probably not what he was wanting to hear. But perhaps Peter thought he might feel better if he was not the only one to suffer this fate.

So he asked Jesus about John: “What shall this man do?” Again, Peter probably did not like what Jesus said to him… if he lives until my second coming, so what? Peter was getting a difficult lesson in the foolishness of comparing his circumstances to those of someone else.

Sometimes we fall into the same trap. We are going through trials and are not sure how much more we can handle. We look at some of our friends and wonder why things are going so well for them. But God alone knows what is needed to shape each person into a useful vessel. When he sees us looking at others with envy, He wants to know: “What’s it to you?”

Prayer: Lord, it’s so tempting to compare myself to others and wish my life was more like theirs. But I trust You to be in charge of my life and to lead me as You see fit.

Devotion by Liane Grant

Leave a Reply

