Outliving the Naysayers

old-hands-bible2“And now, behold, the Lord hath kept me alive, as he said, these forty and five years, even since the Lord spake this word unto Moses, while the children of Israel wandered in the wilderness: and now, lo, I am this day fourscore and five years old.”  (Joshua 14:10 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

The older I get the happier I am to read about senior citizens who made an impact on their world.  Reading about Caleb at 85-years-old crossing over into the Promise Land excites me.

Joshua and Caleb were in the group of twelve sent to spy out the land.  Ten of them were naysayers pointing out all the reasons why they could not go up and take the land of Canaan.  But, Caleb and Joshua outlived the naysayers because of their faith!

The faithful are those who trust their God regardless of what comes their way.  They stand on His Word each day and look through eyes of faith.

Prayer:  The words of a song express my desire to keep holding to Your hand:  “I’ll keep holding on to Jesus, I’ll keep holding on to Jesus, I’ll keep holding to His blessed nail-scarred hands.  Though I cannot see the way too clear and oft’ times my steps grow weary, but I’ll keep holding to Your blessed nail-scarred hands.”  Amen!

 

Devotion by  Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

