Strong Tower

tower2“The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous runneth into it, and is safe.”  (Proverbs 18:10 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible.)

The wisdom writer knew where to go when he was in trouble.

Words are used to describe thoughts.  He could have just written that the Name of the Lord was a tower, but felt the need to throw in the word “strong” to adequately describe this tower.  He wanted us to understand that it was not just any old tower but it was a “strong tower.”  There is stability in the Name of the Lord!

I have found it to be true when disaster struck my life, I ran to this strong tower and found safety.  This strong tower is the Lord Himself.  That’s why I call on Him in my time of need.  There is no God like our God!

Prayer:  I’m so glad to know You, Lord, and to know that Your name is a strong tower.  Where else could I run except to You?  You are my place of complete safety!

Devotion by  Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

