Taking Critique

“If you ignore criticism, you will end in poverty and disgrace; if you accept criticism, you will be honored.” (Proverbs 14:18 from the New Living Translation of the Holy Bible)

“I have some constructive criticism for you,” in other words, “You’re not perfect”. Word it how you wish, criticism can be painful. If you are anything like me, knowing that somebody thinks your work is sub-par can really affect your level of confidence. The bible has more than one scripture referring to how we handle criticism. The consensus – it’s important.

Whether constructive or destructive, the way we handle ourselves when confronted with criticism can really influence the way that people view us. Always remember – we are representing Him in all that we say and do. Though it can be painful, take the criticism and grow from it. As the scripture says, “You will be honored”.

Prayer: Lord, I know I am not perfect. I know that there are times in which You will want to teach me things in ways that are painful. Thank you for caring about me! Where would I be without you, Lord?

Devotion by Melinda Keays

Leave a Reply

