The Great Provider

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want (Psalm 23:1, Holy Bible, King James Version)

I memorized the entire psalm at a young age and recite it often. I meditate on this opening sentence when money is low or uncertainty overshadows my life. I cling to this verse as a promise that everything will be provided for me.

Am I missing the hidden meaning? The opening words, “The LORD is my shepherd” is the Psalmist’s focus. It’s about why God provides. He cares for His sheep who acknowledge Him.

Prayer: Lord, my prayers are often “give me.” Today, I ask for nothing. I offer thanks that You care for me because I am one of Your sheep. Amen.

Devotion by Violet Carr Moore

Leave a Reply

