When I Grow Up

“And there was one Anna, a prophetess, the daughter of Phaneul, of the tribe of Aser: she was of a great age, and had lived with an husband seven years from her virginity.” (Luke 2:36 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

Reading Luke chapter two gives me hope. After reading this passage, I decided that when I grow up I want to be like Anna! She was a very old woman who was still in love with the House of God and the things of God.

Where did we get the idea that getting old has to take the excitement out of life? Anna had been a widow for 84 years and still trusted God. She never left the Temple area, worshiping night and day with her fastings and prayers. God honored her life by allowing her to see the One that she was expectantly waiting for to bring the freedom of Jerusalem.

Being a senior citizen myself, this story of Anna spoke volumes to me as I studied the Word of God. I plan to keep the church my primary residence. Having been in church all of my life makes it even more precious as I age.

Don’t count me out just because I’m getting older. God remains first and foremost in my life. I want to continue praising and worshiping Him regardless of my age. What an awesome role-model to follow. When I grow up I want to be like Anna!

Prayer: Lord, I’m so thankful You have allowed me live to experience Your greatness. Your presence is with me wherever I go. You are the best thing that ever happened to me!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

