Wandering in the Wilderness

“And the Lord’s anger was kindled against Israel, and he made them wander in the wilderness forty years, until all the generation, that did evil in the sight of the Lord, was consumed.” (Numbers 32:14 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible.)

I think I know now how the Children of Israel felt as they wandered in the wilderness. On a recent trip to Tupelo, Mississippi we did some wandering and wondered where in the world we were at! It took us about an hour to get straightened out.

We got up before sunrise, picked up a quick breakfast and headed to Atlanta, Georgia. We were scheduled to have lunch and visit with our niece and her husband. Fifty miles down the road my husband looked up in the sky and thought that the sun wasn’t in it right place. He’s an old boy scout and rarely loses his way anywhere, but we were headed in the wrong direction. So, he put on the GPS and we got back on track.

I’m so glad we didn’t wander for 40 years! It was only a couple of hours delay.

Perhaps you are wandering today, may I suggest you look to the Heavens for help to get back on track.

Prayer: Lord, I need direction. My help comes from you. There are so many distractions that can cause me to get off track. Thank You for guiding me through life. Amen.

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

