The Plague of Leprosy

“And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.” (Matthew 10:29 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

The book of Leviticus goes into great detail about leprosy. What to look for; how to care for the patient; etc. I was amazed at the sheer volume of information given to this subject. Those with leprosy were to be removed from the home so as not to expose the others in the house. Walls were washed down to rid the residence from this dreaded disease. The instructions were called the law of leprosy.

My husband and I were talking about it and he made a great observation. Leprosy is a type of sin. Yet, sin is treated so casually in our present world. While care must be taken for the body, Jesus said, “fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.” I plan to make sure my soul is saved. What about you?

Prayer: Lord, Your Word tells us how to rid our heart and life of sin. I’m thankful for Your blood that was shed for my salvation. You paid the ultimate price on Mt. Calvary. Never let me take it for granted. As the song writer wrote, “I will cherish the old rugged cross, and exchange it someday for a crown.”

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

