Joseph

“And the fame thereof was heard in Pharoah’s house, saying, Joseph’s brethren are come: and it pleased Pharaoh well, and his servants.” (Genesis 45:19 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

It always amazes me how powerful the Word of God is! As I reread the story of Joseph, it came alive to me all over again. A new thought came to light.

Joseph was second in authority over the land. I’m sure not only business conversations occurred between Pharoah and Joseph but, also talk of their families. As they sat around the fire in the evenings perhaps their thoughts turned toward home.

Apparently Joseph spoke lovingly of his family. Had he bad-mouthed them and told of his brother’s betrayal, they would not have been greeted with open-arms when they came to live with Joseph in Egypt.

Family is very important. We need to be careful when speaking of them. Every family has problems. Perhaps wrongs have occurred but, forgive like Joseph and you’ll never be sorry for doing so. I want the story of my life to be like Joseph. What a beautiful example of forgiveness! Having observed families for many years now, I have found that those who choose not to harbor hard feelings, and forgive those who have wronged them, fare better than those who hold grudges.

Prayer: Lord, Your Word is filled with wonderful examples for us to follow. Thank You for placing me in my family. Thank You for my parents, my brothers, and sisters. I learned so much from this small beginning.

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

