Living Like a Glow Stick

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.  Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.  Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.  Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” (Matthew 5: 3-6, NIV)

I do not always get great revelation listening to the radio, but from time to time the announcer will make a comment worth noting.  On my morning commute earlier this week, one of the morning radio hosts talked about glow sticks. It has been a while since I have purposely gone to the store and bought a glow stick, but I have fond memories from when I was a child.  There is something so magical about cracking the glow stick and watching it go from a dull plastic rod to something so bright and colourful!

Without being broken, glow sticks are not glow sticks.  Like glow sticks, until we have gone through moments of pure brokenness, we cannot become what God has fully intended us to be. Such a simple thought and yet so true! I know I personally do not run around asking God to break me but I do need to remember that when the inevitable brokenness does occur, it is just Him preparing me for greatness!

Prayer: Thank you, Jesus, for using my brokenness to make me a stronger person.  I pray that you would do whatever you need to do to make us the people who you need us to be. Amen.

Devotion by Melinda Keays

Leave a Reply

