His Name is Wonderful

isaiah

“For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.” (Isaiah 9:6 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible.)

This verse was one of my Mother’s favorites. “The eye of the prophet seems to have been fixed on this great and glorious event-as attracting all his attention,” Barnes’ Notes says. Isaiah didn’t let the present doom and gloom around him cloud his future hope. He was looking ahead. Today I can say He has become all of the above to me in a very personal way.

His name is wonderful. Just saying the name of Jesus brings hope, peace and joy in my life when my world is turned completely upside down.

Prayer: Thank You, Lord, for being born so that my world could be enlightened. I’m so glad I know that You are the mighty King and Master of everything. Yes, Your Name is Wonderful, Jesus my Lord.

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

