I Will Not be Afraid

For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. (2 Timothy 1:7, KJV)

I am scared of my own shadow. I’m the kind of person who does  the 100 m sprint from the car to my house because I am so afraid that a deranged person will jump of of mid-air and try to kidnap me. I make sure my doors are locked at stop lights; I pretty much always have an escape plan conjured up in my mind if I were to end up in some time of hostage situation (a little exageration…). The point is – I can get so scared!

In these moments of fear, I am reminded of the words spoken in 2 Timothy, “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear”.  It is not his intention for us to be afraid, just as it was never his intention for our world to be so corrupt. The Lord is our protection and we need to remember that when we are allowing fear to take over.

Prayer: Jesus, help us to not be afraid for you are our comfort in all situations. I pray for your peace and safety today! Amen.

Devotion by Melinda Keays

Leave a Reply

