Giants Don’t Always Win

courageThen said David to the Philistine, Thou comest to me with a sword, and with a spear, and with a shield: but I come to thee in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom thou hast defied.” (1 Samuel 17:45 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

This morning I am reminded of a story I have heard all my life. It was kind of a scary story to me as a child. How in the world did David have the courage to stand up to that HUGE giant? Now that I’m grown, I realize that David was not alone – God was standing with him!

We have all faced giants in our lives. Some of those giants have been fear, doubt, depression, drugs, alcohol, rejection and the list goes on and on. Whatever giant you are staring at remember – Giants don’t always win. They can be defeated if you do what David did – use the Name of The Lord!

When two champions met, they generally each made a speech. They would hurl verbal abusive dialogue to their opponent. David’s words showed only trust in his God for the outcome of the battle. What Goliath expected from his arms, David expected from the name of the God of the armies of Israel.

I’m here to tell you that giants don’t always win. Giants don’t have to win in your life if God is with you. The Name of the Lord is a STRONG tower!

Prayer: I am so thankful that I know who You are today. When I call on the name of Jesus I can expect the enemy to be defeated in my own life. In Jesus Name! Amen!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

