My Life is Not My Own

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11, NIV)

Over the last several years God has been showing me just how much He is in charge of my life. Though He does give me free will to do as I wish, He is very quick to shut doors if they were never supposed to be opened.  Living a life submitted to God’s will can be hard when we like to know exactly where life is taking us. Having our lives pictured  a certain way and being thrown off by unexpected road blocks is confusing and leads us to wonder what God is doing. We must remember that God is in complete control and that He only does things to help us and not to harm us. He knows what tomorrow holds and will prepare us in whatever way that we need.

Prayer: Lord, you see the struggles we face when we just can’t understand why things are happening in our lives. Unexpected turns can so difficult for us. I am grateful that in these times you are only preparing us for the great things you have ahead!

Devotion by Melinda Keays

Leave a Reply

