Calming the Storm

So they sent the crowd home and took him with them in the little boat in which he had been sitting, accompanied by other small craft. Then came a violent squall of wind which drove the waves aboard the boat until it was almost swamped. Jesus was in the stern asleep on the cushion. They awoke him with the words, “Master, don’t you care that we’re drowning?” And he woke up, rebuked the wind, and said to the waves, “Hush now! Be still!” The wind dropped and everything was very still.  (Mark 4:37-39, Holy Bible, J.B. Phillips New Testament)

I’ve been in some fierce storms―driving a vehicle during a tornado; inside a home during a hurricane; and in a small craft on a lake in high winds. All these experiences were frightening, but I felt the most vulnerable when water threatened to swamp the fishing boat and toss me into the lake.

I called on Jesus in all these storms and He kept me safe. I’ve been in other perils when the storms of life threatened to claim my soul, but He brought me those. You can trust Him to do the same for you .

 Prayer: Lord Jesus, I thank You for Your protection. You are with me in all of life’s storms. Amen.

Devotion by Violet Carr Moore

Leave a Reply

