Fool Versus Wise

mouth
“A fool uttereth all his mind: but a wise man keepeth it in till afterwards.” (Proverbs 29:11 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

Today, I feel like I’ve been to the principal’s office and reprimanded. No, it’s not the first time I’ve read this scripture, but this time I finally applied the instruction to my life. I hate to say it, but I’ve acted more often like a fool than a wise man. My behavior was bad. I thought being honest and saying whatever was on my mind was right, but in God’s wisdom class today He made me realize that sometimes it’s better not to say anything at all and wait for a better time to express myself.

Maybe you don’t have this problem. My husband is such a good listener and never responds off-the-cuff, but I have. He’s right. I’m going to follow his lead. I’m so glad the Lord is still working on me to make me what I ought to be!

The New International Version reads: “A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under control.”

Don’t let frustrations take control of your emotions. I don’t want to be a fool.

Prayer: Your Word, Lord, is so full of wisdom and guides me through life. Help me to understand that Your Word will keep me from offending one of your children with my rash words of anger. In Jesus Name, I pray, Amen!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

