In Waiting

“So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.” (1 Peter 5:6-7, The Message)

Scripture tells us not to compare ourselves to other people. As much as we want to obey this command, human nature leads us to make all sorts of comparisons (maybe I’m alone in this boat, although I’m fairly certain that many are keeping me company).  There are moments in my life when I wonder, “Who exactly does God want me to be?” When I see people around me who look like they have it all figured out I sometimes feel discouraged.  1 Peter 5 is a great reminder for me.  I am who I am for a reason, and God has the perfect plan for me in His perfect timing. If I can be patient, He will do a great work through me!

Prayer: Help me to be patient as I wait for the plans that you have for me. Guide my every step. I am so thankful that I do not have to be discouraged because I know that You will always have your hand on me. In Jesus name, amen.

Devotion by Melinda Keays

Leave a Reply

