God-first Life

“A life devoted to things is a dead life, a stump; a God-shaped life is a flourishing tree.” (Proverbs 11:28, MSG)

After having gone seven days without electricity, I can honestly say that I would be lost without technology. I would love to say that this power-free journey has made me appreciate care-free living but instead it has made me realize just how much I need “things” to survive. It is not until we are forced to disconnect that we realize how far we’ve gone from the simplistic God-first kind of life that we were intended to have. My goal for the weeks to come is to purposely disconnect and refocus on what matters the most – a God-shaped life.

Prayer: In the time that we live in, it becomes so easy to let things come in the way of our focus. Help us, Lord, to prioritize better, and to not let our earthly goods get in the way of our relationship with You. Amen.

Devotion by Melinda Keays

Leave a Reply

