Shine Bright

Thousands of people in my city will have woken up this morning to their fifth day without electricity. Following a tropical storm that wreaked havoc on thousands of trees and power lines, many of us have been living in the dark for what seems like forever. When darkness falls, candles very quickly become our only source of light. Being the scaredy-cat that I am, I am always afraid to burn candles because I am certain that my house will burn down if I light one. I quickly got over my fear and lit a candle.

Even lighting that one candle will light up an entire room.  As I sat in my bedroom watching this candle burning brightly, I began thinking about whether or not my life has been a light to those around me. My prayer would be that it has. We live in a very dark world. Millions of souls are dying and are desperate for any source of light in their lives. Your light can shine so bright if you allow it to. People will notice your glowing spirit if you allow God to shine through you.

Prayer: Lord, I pray that your light radiates from me in this dark and lonely world. Speak through me to and let your spirit guide me to those who are hungry for you. In Jesus name, amen.

Devotion by Melinda Keays

Leave a Reply

