The “Sandwich Club”

Caring-for-Elderly“Behold the fowls of the air; for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heaven Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?” (Matthew 6:26 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

The “Sandwich Club” is a term used to refer to people who are caring for their aging parents as well as their own children. They are sandwiched between two generations.

I just found out about this club. Now I’m an active member paying dues to my sweet mother-in-law who has Alzheimer’s disease.

Recently, while I was caring for my mother-in-law to give my sister-in-law a much needed break, I became acutely aware of how quickly things can change. In the morning she might know who I am but in the evening she might say, “Who are you?” It felt like we were on a zip line going from bad to worse. When I returned home from my duty, I was totally exhausted and slept more than usual.

There are many in this club who are physically drained from doing the right thing. May I remind you that His eye is on the sparrow and He’s aware of your situation. Take a look outside at the birds flying around. “Are ye not much better than they?” Just know God is with you every step of the way.

Prayer: Father, bless all of those who are caring for a loved one who has failing health. Give strength to them. Encourage them with Your Word. Let them feel Your presence right now. In Jesus Name, Amen!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

