Missing God’s House

1387263_99982162“How amiable are thy tabernacles, O Lord of hosts! My soul longeth, yea, even fainteth for the courts of the Lord: my heart and my flesh crieth out for the living God.” (Psalm 84:1-2 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

The psalmist, absent from the public worship of God, shows his love for the house of God, and his desire to be present in God’s House!

When I am away from church for whatever reason, I miss being there. When the time arrives for the service to start, I envision what is going on and those who are present.

Having been away for two weeks while taking care of my sweet Mother-in-Law and unable to attend church, my first service back was wonderful! It was a mid-week Bible study and it meant so very much to me. Yes, God was with me where I was but, there is something very special about corporate worship. Joining others in praise and worship lifts my spirit to God’s Spirit. It’s the best house in the world; God’s House!

Prayer: Lord Jesus, I’m so glad You gave me the privilege to be in Your House one more time. Don’t let me take for granted church attendance. In your house I find a refuge from this world I’m living in. Amen!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

