My Heritage

hands“Lo, children are an heritage of the Lord: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.” (Psalm 127:3 in the King James Version of the Holy Bible)

It’s May – the month when we honor mothers. I’m reminded of my first pregnancy. Stephen was my first baby. Having worked in a hospital and seeing the mothers who came to have their babies, I was determined to not act like most of those mothers-to-be. Do I have stories to tell, but I won’t!

Stephen was two weeks late and I was more than ready to deliver. Those were the days when you had no idea the gender of the baby and doctors didn’t do any of the tests they do today. After delivery, I knew the baby was supposed to cry at some point and so I watched the clock. Five minutes passed before he screamed. I learned later that the umbilical cord was wound too tight around his neck. The medical team had discretely delivered him and given him oxygen and he came alive. Because of the lack of oxygen he suffered some brain damage. The little red-faced bundle of joy stole my heart! He will be 44 this month and still clings to his Mama.

Children come from the Lord. He loans them to their parents. They are the only thing we can take with us to Heaven from this earth.

The word heritage means, 1) Something that comes or belongs to one by reason of birth and 2) Something reserved for one. Your children were reserved for you!

Prayer: Thank You, Lord, for the heritage of children You have given me. Others have houses, lands, gold and silver, but my children are an inheritance that You reserved just for me. Amen!

Devotion by Kaye Singleton

Leave a Reply

